Imagine Awards 2018

The vision of the Imagine Awards is to celebrate those who are committed to making a better community and world for people with disabilities... "A Community Where Everyone Belongs." Proceeds from the Imagine Awards event benefit the Rauch Foundation.


Each year, the Rauch Foundation honors an individual, a community leader and a local business committed to making a better community and world for people with disabilities. Honorees work or live in Clark, Floyd, Harrison, Scott, or Washington Counties in Indiana or Jefferson County, Kentucky. Recipients will be recognized at the Imagine Awards gala on March 3, 2018, at Horseshoe Southern Indiana. 

This year, we will celebrate the inspiring deeds of Ima Abbott, Cindy Cecil and Archie's Barber and Style Shop whose work in the community have a positive impact on the lives of individuals with disabilities.

Individual Honoree: Ima Abbott
At nineteen years of age, Ima was in a car accident and suffered a spinal cord injury after which she is considered a complete quadriplegic in motor function and an incomplete quad in sensory functioning. She uses a motorized wheelchair and drives a modified van. After surgery and therapy, Ima completed her degree in Psychology beginning her odyssey to a lifetime of helping others. From 2003 to 2012, she worked at New Hope Services (Jeffersonville, IN) and obtained her Masters in Social Work. Beginning in 2012, she joined Vocational Rehabilitation as a counselor where she helped individuals with disabilities enter or return to the workforce. By 2015, Ima earned her second Master's degree in Rehabilitation Counseling and in 2016, became a certified rehab counselor. Last year, she was promoted to VR Supervisor for six counties in Southern Indiana. Overcoming multiple and significant obstacles, Ima uses her life as a platform for inclusion and acceptance.

Community Leader Honoree: Cindy Cecil
Cindy's journey began in 1978 as a special education teacher at Churchill Park School (Louisville, KY). Over her 35-year career, teaching at Bruce Middle School (Louisville), St. Mary's and Mt. Tabor schools in New Albany, Cindy made a profoundly positive impact on countless children with disabilities and their families. Following retirement, Cindy began volunteering at Rauch's Day Program facility on Charlestown Road.She arrives each Monday spending 6-8 hours with clients to help improve their academic skills. She is not only an effective teacher to clients, she constantly models techniques that staff can easily replicate. Cindy continues the long tradition at Rauch of the hard work of volunteers making a difference in the lives of individuals with disabilities.

Business Honoree: Archie's Barber and Style Shop - Sellersburg
Archie Engle, who operates a barbershop in Sellersburg, welcomes all those who enter. For nearly 30 years, Archie's has offered appointment-only days for individuals with disabilities (as well as police officers, school children and retirees). He sees the dignity that being properly groomed provides everyone. Archie provides this invaluable service to people with disabilities in the most public and respectful way possible. 

If you have questions or would like more information regarding Imagine Award honorees, please contact Joe Spoelker at or (812) 981-4410. Watch this page for deadline for submitting nominees later in 2017.

CLICK HERE to purchase tickets or pay for sponsorship online.

2018 Imagine Awards Entertainer

This year, we are delighted to showcase the inspirational story and amazing talent of Kechi Okwuchi. Kechi is one of only two survivors of a plane crash in 2005. She relied on music to help her through her difficult recovery. Many of us enjoyed sharing the journey of Kechi and Mandy Harvey (2017 Imagine Awards entertainer) to the finals on NBC's America's Got Talent. We look forward to her moving message memorable performance.

2017 America's got talent finalist, kechi, will provide entertainment at 2018 imagine awards! Click here FOR A PREVIEW OF KECHI'S STORY AND AMAZING VOICE!!

2017 America's got talent finalist, kechi, will provide entertainment at 2018 imagine awards!


CLICK HERE to purchase tickets or pay for sponsorship online.


THE 2O18 IMAGINE AWARDS will be presented once again by German American Bank to benefit the Rauch Foundation. We look forward to yet another successful event!  

In 2017, we raised over $70,000 net through sponsorship, ticket sales, silent auction, raffle tickets and live auction to benefit the Rauch Foundation. As part of the live auction, we asked attendees to enhance the early intervention work provided through Rauch's children services by helping us raise funds needed to purchase 35 iPads (to be used by therapists as an additional tool in working with children). Our goal was to raise $22,916 for 35 iPads! Over $30,000 was raised through the generosity of many of our guests!

2018 Title Sponsor

2018 Stellar SponsorS

Kron's logo.jpg

2018 Gold Sponsors


2018 Silver Sponsors

2018 Corporate Sponsors

  • Chuck Crowley.
  • Baptist Health - Floyd
  • Duke Energy
  • Nimlok Kentucky
  • Nicholson Printing
  • Southern Indiana Realtor Association
  • WesBanco

2018 In-kind Sponsors

  • iHeart Media
  • The Marketing Company
  • The News and Tribune

Special thanks to:

  • Shaun Logsdon, State Champion Auctioneer & Real Estate Broker with The Logsdon Group, for serving as our guest auctioneer
  • Nance Floral Shoppe for donating the honoree flower arrangements

Imagine Awards Honorees

Individual Award Recipients

  • 2001: Kristi Morrison
  • 2002: George "Tooter" Tinius
  • 2003: Nicole "Nicci" Williams
  • 2004: Denise Shaw
  • 2005: Brenda Durham
  • 2006: Robert Rankin
  • 2007: Kelly Knoop
  • 2008: Carolyn Wilson
  • 2009: Mark Hublar
  • 2010: Annie Gutierrez
  • 2011: Thomas Klein
  • 2012: Gregory Thomas Court
  • 2013: Andrew Ganote
  • 2014: Traci Reister Hardy
  • 2015: Bryan Varner
  • 2016: David DeSanctis
  • 2017: Bryce Wooley

Community Leader/Volunteer Award Recipients

  • 2001: Lisa Angell-Heinz 
  • 2002: F. C. Richardson 
  • 2003: Betty Morgan 
  • 2004: Edith Parker 
  • 2005: Linda Petree-Moore 
  • 2006: Cora Huffines / New Albany Housing Authority 
  • 2007: Jay Davidson / Healing Place 
  • 2008: Caren Marshall 
  • 2009: Jim Stein 
  • 2010: Jackie Madden 
  • 2011: Steve Hines 
  • 2012: Geradine Schultze 
  • 2013: Kim Kruer
  • 2014: Jana Kixmiller
  • 2015: Jill Valocik Smith
  • 2016: Lucy VonRoenn
  • 2017: Ethan Schmidt

Business/Organization Award Recipients

  • 2001: Hitachi Cable Automotive Products USA 
  • 2002: Clarke American 
  • 2003: Kroger 
  • 2004: Jeffersonville Pizza Hut 
  • 2005: Southern Indiana Respite Services 
  • 2006: Bert R. Huncilman & Son, Inc. 
  • 2007: Brown-Forman Corporation 
  • 2008: American Beverage Marketers 
  • 2009: Floyd Memorial Hospital & Health Services 
  • 2010: Walmart Grant Line Rd. 
  • 2011: Life, Inc. 
  • 2012: Tunnel Hill Christian Church 
  • 2013: Dr. Joseph A. Fleck, DDS 
  • 2014: Council on Developmental Disabilities
  • 2015: Dr. Jason Lipoff
  • 2016: Tasman Natural Pet
  • 2017: Kohl's Jeffersonville

If you would like more information about the Imagine Awards, contact:

Joe Spoelker, Director of Development, Rauch, Inc. 
845 Park Place • New Albany, IN 47150 • (812) 981-4410